On February 22, 2019, former ARMM Executive Secretary and Concurrent Regional Secretary of DSWD, Atty. Laisa Masuhud Alamia, took her oath as Member of the Bangsamoro Transition Authority (BTA), the First Bangsamoro Parliament of the newly established Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao. The ceremony, held at the Malacañan Palace, was led by President Rodrigo Duterte.  

By virtue of the Bangsamoro Organic Law, the BTA is created as the interim government of the region during the transition period. Vested with legislative and executive powers, the BTA is expected to facilitate the transition, including the transfer of powers and properties, from the previous Autonomous Regional Government in Muslim Mindanao to the Bangsamoro Government.

As member of the Parliament, Atty. Alamia has the duty and the privilege to look into the socio-economic and political interests of the Bangsamoro people and to draft bills that would address concerns in these broad areas. She is also expected to scrutinize every bill or resolution filed for consideration by debating on its merits and to vote on legislation and other matters brought before the plenary. Along with Atty. Alamia were seventy-five (75) other representatives who took their oath as Members of BTA.  Four (4) vacant seats are yet to be appointed by the President Duterte.