Self-determination is at the heart of the Bangsamoro regional government, and it involves drafting legislation that expresses the will of the Bangsamoro people while keeping abreast of the national government’s agenda. 

Among seven bodies specifically established by the Bangsamoro Organic Law for intergovernmental relations under Article VI, the Philippines Congress-Bangsamoro Parliament Forum shall serve as the locus of “cooperation and coordination” for legislative measures involving both the regional and national government.

Eleven members of the Bangsamoro Parliament have been chosen to be part of the delegation to the said forum. Parliament Speaker Pangalian Balindong leads the delegation, and he is joined by Deputy Speaker Hatimil Hassan, Majority Floor Leader Lanang Ali, Jr., Minority Floor Leader Laisa Alamia, Public Works Minister and MP Eduard Guerra, Finance Minister and MP Atty. Ubaida Pacasem, MP Suharto Ambolodto, MP Rasul Ismael, MP Jose Lorena, MP Omar Yasser Sema, and MP Nabil Tan.

The forum is seen as a platform for the national and regional legislators to resolve issues should there be potential conflicts concerning proposed laws and policies in the regional government. It allows both sides to assert and reinforce their mandate as they jointly arrive at a consensus regarding the regional government’s affairs.